22 Mar 2012

Paul & Linda McCartney's Ram Deluxe Edition's On The Way

May 21 sees the next release in The Paul McCartney Archive Collection. Ram was originally released in 1971, his second album after the Beatles break up, and the only album of his career to be credited to Paul & Linda McCartney. It's also generally regarded as his finest post Beatles work barring Band on the Run, and who am I to argue? It's a pretty great album.

It'll come in these formats:

Standard Edition: 1 CD digipak Single disc, digitally remastered 12- track standard edition
Special Edition: 2 CD digipak Remastered album and 8-track bonus audio CD featuring
  1. Another Day (from Apple single R 5889, 1971)
  2. Oh Woman, Oh Why (from Apple single R 5889, 1971)
  3. Little Woman Love
  4. A Love For You (Jon Kelly Remix)
  5. Hey Diddle (Dixon Van Winkle Mix)
  6. Great Cock And Seagull Race (Dixon Van Winkle Mix)
  7. Rode All Night
  8. Sunshine Sometime (Earliest Mix)
Deluxe Edition Box Set: 4 CD/1 DVD box set & download Remastered album, bonus audio CD, remastered Mono album, Thrillington CD, bonus film DVD, 112 page book, 5 prints in vintage style photographic wallet, 8 full size facsimiles of Paul’s original handwritten lyric sheets and mini photographic book of outtakes from the original album cover photo shoot.
Hi-Res: 24bit 96kHz files of the remastered and bonus audio CD, accessed via a download code inserted on a card within the deluxe edition package
Vinyl: 2LP 180gm, gatefold vinyl with download Remastered album, bonus audio disc plus digital download of all 20 tracks
Limited Edition Mono Vinyl: 1LP, Remastered mono album
Digital: RAM will be available for download across a variation of digital configurations including Mastered for iTunes and High Resolution

Written by the McCartneys on their farm in Mull of Kintyre, Scotland, the album was recorded in New York with Denny Seiwell, David Spinozza and Hugh McCracken.
We'll give Paul the last word :  "Ladies and gentlemen, this is an album from a long, long time ago, when the world was different. This is an album that is part of my history - it goes back to the wee hills of Scotland where it was formed. It's an album called 'RAM'. It reminds me of my hippie days and the free attitude with which was created. I hope you’re going to like it, because I do!"

No comments:

Post a Comment